Roy Mackin Scholarships


Annually, we award at least four $1000 scholarships in honour of our former CEO, Roy Mackin.

In 2007 the Bayview Credit Union Board of Directors renamed our education award in honour of the late Roy Mackin, former CEO. Roy Mackin was the Chief Executive Officer of Bayview Credit Union from 1978-2003. He epitomized the credit union and co-op ethics and worked tirelessly and diligently to mould the credit union into a force in its own right; offering people a way to control their own destiny and support not only themselves but their community.

Bayview Credit Union Limited proudly presents a minimum of four scholarships of $1,000 each to eligible students who are members or whose parents/guardians are members of Bayview Credit Union. These scholarships are non-renewable but previous winners may re-apply each year. The scholarships are contingent upon actual full-time enrollment in a post-secondary institution. The criteria for the scholarships will be assessed on an equal basis and will include:

  • Academic Achievement
  • Cooperative Community Service (volunteer work)
  • Financial Need
  • Success in Spite of Extraordinary Circumstances.
  • Leadership

Deadline for applications to reach Bayview Credit Union is the second Friday of May each year.  The deadline for the 2020 Roy Mackin Award is May 8, 2020.

2020 Roy Mackin Scholarship Application

Successful high school candidates will be notified during graduation ceremonies in June. Successful candidates already attending post-secondary institutions will be notified in person.


Find Branch/ATM

Enter address, postal code or branch name